STASHING #1

Most of the time I don’t have a definite plan in mind for the fabric I buy.  I see what I like and need  decide to purchase some; sometimes a fat quarter, sometimes 5 meters.  However, on occasion, certain fabrics speak to me and a quilt forms in my head before I’ve even finished basting my current project.  That’s my problem you see; too many quilts, not enough time/money/space.

One such fabric was this half moon stripe in charcoal from the ‘Uno’ collection by Stof.  I love the jewel colours and the simple, repetitive design.  I had to have it.

photo(3)

I knew this would be make the perfect backing fabric for a block I’ve been wanting to use on a quilt top for a while.  With the colour scheme chosen, more fabric was ordered for the blocks.  The other day this colourful collection tumbled through the letterbox.

photo(4)

Clockwise from left:

Nordika – Arctic Lights in Polar, Architextures – Crosshatch in Black, Mirror Ball Dots in Snow, Squared Elements in Shadow, Glimma – Soba in Fog, Carnaby Street – Kings Road in Fuchsia, Architextures – Crosshatch in plum, Uno – Beaded Wave in Raspberry, Uno – Floating Axes in Raspberry, Kona Valentine, Kona Plum, Chicopee – Cross Square in Green, Stitch Floral Circle in Teal, Nordika – Stellar in Skylight, Stitch Square in Teal, Kona Candy Green, Kona Blue Grass.

Aren’t they great?  All I need now is a grey to use for the background.  I’m off to London in a few weeks, so I’ll take some of the backing fabric to The Village Haberdashery to colour match it with a Kona solid.  With so many new colours being released, I’m not sure which grey would be the best match!

3 thoughts on “STASHING #1

  1. Hello Nick from the other side of the world. Love the colours in this stash! Not the sort of colours I choose (I am very traditional, and love Civil War repros) but just gorgeous! I will be interested to see how you choose to use it.

  2. Pingback: A GOSSIP QUILT – WIP | Quilts From The Attic

Leave a Reply

