SEWING FOR SEWING’S SAKE – A WONKY CROSS WIP

I love sewing, there’s no denying that.  As I approach three years of quilting, my stitching schedule is busier than I would ever have imagined when I started on a toy-sized machine in 2012.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I thrive on the pressure.  Eleventh hour deadlines fuel my creativity, whether they’re for magazine commissions, Sizzix projects or Quilt Monkey episodes.  I love how far my quilting has been pushed and am grateful for all the opportunities that come my way.

That said, there are times I find myself pushing projects or ideas to the back burner because they’re not on the to-do list.  I sometimes feel pangs of quilt guilt whenever I work on something that isn’t in my diary; spontaneous ideas that more often than not remain unrealised due to my ever-demanding time constraints.

A few days ago, I ventured to the attic to pattern write and found myself sat at the machine and sewing scraps together far before I’d reached for a pen.  I guess this was my mind’s way of telling me I should be a little selfish.  Well, I’m so glad I was.  I loved it!  It was so freeing! I had no idea what I was going to end up with or what fabrics I would use. I had no measurements, sketches or notes to work from.  I looked at my out-of-control scraps, took a hand full of neutrals, threw in some teal and aqua (which are the most numerous of the scraps and seem to breed in the small hours of the morning) and with a full bobbin, put my foot to the floor!  Sewing, slashing and pressing, it was clear that my mind was taking me on a wonky cross journey; a block I’d long admired but never made, due to my, yep you guessed it, lack of time.  The process was so quick, what with chain piecing and mass pressing, that I had a dozen randomly sized blocks finished in about an hour.

I’ve decided to add to this project as and when I can.  I’m going to stick with the colour scheme, make them oddly sized and fit them all together at the end.  I thinking big, like king sized big, if only to make a real dent in the scraps situation.  I love the variation that the improv piecing creates, with long and thin as well as fat and squat crosses.  There’s no discrimination here!  The scrappy, low volume background really makes the colours pop and the addition of some linen and calico adds great texture.

I can’t wait to work on this a little more.  I’ll keep you all posted!

10 thoughts on “SEWING FOR SEWING’S SAKE – A WONKY CROSS WIP

  1. I really admire your improv style, jealous in fact as I can’t seem to let go of my uniform blocks/shapes and just go for it. As you say, it’s a great way to tackle the stash, I’ve even cut that into 2 and 5″ squares! I look forward to see how this progresses.

  2. Wow. What an amazing range. I like geometric designs and the simple yet stylish prints. Those colours are gorgeous too. I look forward to seeing what you make. I already follow you on Instagram but haven’t started following you here. So if you could add my details to your mailing list that would be great!! I’ll also leave a comment on your Instagram page. Hope you feel better soon. 😊

    • Hey Nicky.
      Just wanted to let you know to follow the blog you can enter your email in the side bar. Also, you’ve left this comment on the incorrect post. If you rewrite it on the Lecien post then I’ll delete this one for you.
      Many thanks.

  3. These fabrics are so lovely and not what you expect from Lecian. Looks like I can’t follow on the mobile version so I’ll pop on the mac sometime and gladly follow!!

  4. First, I very much like the crosses and color way. Second, I’ve been meaning to ask… Did you pre-wash your linen or use a greater seam allowance?

  5. Pingback: EASTER PAUSE…AND PLANNING. | Quilts From The Attic
  6. Pingback: Quilts of Hope & Love – Leeds MQG

Leave a Reply

