MONKEYING AROUND ON QUILT MONKEY!

Throughout the rich and varied history of TV there have been countless memorable duos who’ve remained every-present in the consciousness of consumers; Laurel and Hardy, Richard and Judy and Ant and Dec.  Well, as much as it blows my mind to say it, you can add another pair to the list; Katy Jones…and me!

Katy needs no introduction to anyone familiar with the modern quilting movement. Author, blogger and fabric designer, she knows her stuff, so I was honoured when she asked me last year if I’d be interested in presenting some episodes of her ever-popular quilting show Quilt Monkey.  To say I wasn’t a little nervous at first would be a big fat lie! I’d never done anything like it before and my mind was full of all the live TV fails I’d seen whilst lost in the depths of late-night internet browsing. Fortunately, Quilt Monkey, which is shown on QNNTV, isn’t filmed live and, even if it was, I had great support along the way.  My hand was well and truly held!

So, after a spot of planning, off to North Wales I went to film my episodes; a four-hour car drive from the attic here in Cardiff.  Me, behind a camera, talking about quilting!  Throughout the journey I was frantically taking notes, wracking my brain for funny anecdotes and inspirational nuggets to share with the audience.  Then I stopped and thought “I know what I’m talking about, let’s just focus on the quilting.”  So that’s what I did.  I have to admit it was a bit surreal to be stood behind the camera, lights shining down and a bank of TV monitors glowing at the edge of my vision.  I even had a microphone, something which l wasn’t expecting but in hindsight seems so obvious.  This was real and the cameras were rolling!

Luckily for me Katy was a dream to work with and displayed none of the diva qualities often attributed to people at the top of their game.  Yes, she needs a constant stream of tea, but then again so do I!  We chatted and cut fabric, then pressed and sewed it as I talked about piecing free hand curves.  We were having so much fun that before I knew it, a wrap was called on our joint episode.  I’d done it!  That episode is now up and ready to view.  Over the course of my trip I filmed a total of 4 episodes, to be released over the coming weeks.  In fact, my first solo effort goes live today! Throughout the episodes I’ll be talking about improv and inspiration, as well as showing you some techniques I used to create my Vegetable Patch quilts.

The whole experience was so fun and I’m hoping I’ll get the chance to return for another guest slot.  If you do get a chance to view the episodes I’d love to hear what you all think!  Thanks for visiting!

5 thoughts on “MONKEYING AROUND ON QUILT MONKEY!

Leave a Reply

