NO GIRLS ALLOWED QUILT BEE – OCTOBER

With the new year comes the end of the No Girls Allowed Quilt Bee.  I have to confess that I still have one month left to make, and two to write about, and that’s not including my own month, October.  The bee has moved along as a leisurely pace and there’s been no pressure from anyone if blocks have been running a little late.  I’ve already received a few of mine and I have to say that they are looking amazing.  My brief was quite simple; improve block using solids and prints inspired by my favourite painting, and one which I’ve yet to see in person.

I’ve been enamoured with Salvador Dali’s ‘The Persistence of Memory’ since I was in school.  Despite having visited New York City three times, I’ve always managed to miss seeing the painting at MOMA.  So, I thought I’d ask my bee mates to help me make my own version.  The idea is still forming in my head and I’m planning on waiting for more of the blocks to arrive before I start thinking about layout.  Watch this space!

Leave a Reply

