BLOGGER’S QUILT FESTIVAL – VEGETABLE PATCH QUILT

Swiftly following the anniversary of this blog is the Blogger’s Quilt Festival, which happens twice a year to coincide with International Quilt Market.  I was so swamped in the spring that the festival passed me by, so I’m excited to be involved again this time around.  The sheer abundance of creativity and inspiration throughout the festival makes it a date to remember for anyone as enamored by patchwork and quilting as me.  Just remember to set aside half a day to browse all the entries, oh, and bring biscuits too!

This time I’ve decided to enter my Vegetable Patch Quilt into the Original Design Quilts category.  This quilt remains something I’m immensely proud of.  Be sure to check out this post for more details about its conception and construction.  I’m not ashamed to say that every now and then I lay it out and just stare at it.  When I started my quilting journey, the idea of making anything remotely like this was laughable, let alone design it myself.  It’s funny what we learn on our quilting journey.  This was the quilt that solidified my love for improvisational piecing and abandonment of the quilting rule book (which so many people tell me doesn’t even exist!)

Much like the subject matter, the journey of this quilt was an organic one.  It began with an image of a leek, which took root in my brain and compelled me to fashion it from fabric.  Scraps of fabric littered the attic and I risked a local shortage of spray starch as I sewed and hacked my vegetable blocks.  So liberating and so inspiring!  Since I finished the quilt it has become the most commented-on thing I’ve made and I was pleased to share it with my fellow quilters at the recent Fat Quarterly Retreat in London.  It’s definitely a keeper, and I can see the patch ‘growing’ in the near future.

I have to end with a huge thank you to Amy from Amy’s Creative Side who works so hard to bring us the festival each year.  I can’t even begin to imagine the amount of organising that must go into it and I feel so privileged to be a part of such an amazingly creative experience.  Now, go forth and vote for your favourite in each category!

6 thoughts on “BLOGGER’S QUILT FESTIVAL – VEGETABLE PATCH QUILT

  1. Your directions are superb. I love this quilt and though I don’t know if I have the patience to make it a mini may be in my future. Thanks for sharing your beautiful creation and the tutorial so we can aspire to achieve something of our own.

    • Hey Barbara!

      Thank you so much for visiting and for taking the time to comment. I really appreciate it. By the sounds of it I think you meant to post this comment on my Leaf Skeleton block post!

  2. What a great looking quilt. It’s perfect for the fabrics and your quilting is wonderful. I showed my wife and she has asked if I will make her one. 🙂

  3. I’ve loved this quilt since I first saw it months ago, and I can never quite decide which is my favourite veg but I think the cabbage is clinching it! I love that it’s completely abstract but somehow you know instinctively what it is when you see it, gorgeous colourwork.

Leave a Reply

