STASHING #21

I’m having a Dorothy Gale moment.  I’m realising how she must have felt stepping into those ruby slippers given to her by Glinda the Good Witch.  I mean come on, those are some pretty sparkly shoes to fill, and with all those citizens of Oz watching too.  That’s a gig!  Well, move over darling, because today I get to wear the sparkliest shoes of all and attempt to walk tall and proud in them.  Not an easy feat when their previous occupant was the effervescent Molli Sparkles.  That’s right, Sunday Stash is with me today fabric lovers, and I’m so happy you’ve all popped over to say hello.  Thankfully there was no arduously long yellow brick road to follow, just a simple click of  a link.  Dorothy really didn’t have it easy did she?

So, this week has been so crazily busy, what with sewing and teaching and designing…oh my…that my only really fabric purchase was a 10cm strip of black solid to use for binding on a quilt that I’ll be sharing soon.

“How terribly unglamorous!” shouted the assembled crowd.

Yes, yes I know.  But fear not, as I have some pretties (these don’t fly or wear little tailored waistcoats) to share that were…ahem…gifted to me.  Isn’t that the best kind of fabric?  Stuff that just lands on your doormat with a ta dah and a puff of awesomeness.  I have Katy Jones of I’m a Ginger Monkey fame to thank for these and although I can’t actually share with you all what I’ll be making with them just yet, know that they’ll be put to good use.

Timeless Treasures Sketch in yellow, sun, gold, daffodil and charcoal

You know those types of fabric that you just want bolts and bolts of?  Those trusty, go-to in a crisis ones you’d be happy to visit the Wizard with?  Well, the Sketch fabrics by Timeless Treasures are the Lion to Robert Kauffman’s Kona Scarecrow and Essex Tin Man.  I can’t live without them and want need some in every colour way.  I was having a hard time finding these yellow colours in the UK so Katy and her awesomeness got them sent to me, directly from Timeless Treasure.  That was a very good mail day I kid you not!  These prints need to be seen in person.  Their subtlety really does pack a punch and they’re far from cowardly.  My plan is to stock up on these at every available opportunity.

Since Dorthy got to go home it’s only fitting that I share a gift with all of you lovely people.  So, who want’s some fabric money?  I’m offering one lucky reader a $25 gift certificate for an online fabric shop of their choice.  So, whether you want to go wild in the virtual aisles of  Fat Quarter Shop, Intrepid Thread, Pink Castles Fabrics or M is for Make, just leave a comment letting me know what you’d buy if you won.  I’d love to shop vicariously through you all!  Also, whilst you’re here, please consider follow the blog and calling back for another visit.  I’d love to see you again!

Now, show us what you got!

1. Link up a blog post welcoming any new sewing supplies to your stash.

2. If it is fabric from your existing stash that you’ve showcased before, please use new photos with as much natural light as possible, and provide as many manufacturing details about the fabric.

3. Try to leave a comment on at least two other links. We want this to be a safe space for sewing supply collectors, after all!

4. Grab the button, and proudly proclaim you endorse Sunday Stashing!

34 thoughts on “STASHING #21

  1. I love sketch… I really should start hoarding more of it! At the moment I’m filling up a cart at FQS with some of the new Christmas fabrics (loving the new Basic Grey one). I have an idea of what I want to make with a F8 bundle I already have but I need a few extra fabrics to make it work — eyeing off Grunge Basics for a background. Yum yum!

  2. I’d buy Kaffe Fassett fabrics – you can never have too many of those! Thanks for the opportunity. Will link up a photo in the morning when I can take a good photo.

  3. Hello Nicholas! Nice to meet you:) I am also in looooove with those sketch prints! And now I need them in some of these gorgeous yellows. So that is definitely what I would be on the hunt for. Happy to follow and going to take a look around now:)

  4. I’m a big fan of the Sketch. Fabrics & am running low on my faves so I’d get some of the colours available at Pink Castle Fabrics. I already follow you via email subscription. Thanks for the chance to win.

  5. I really love Tula Pink… I want to get my hands on some of the Salt Water collection, particularly ‘octo garden’, I don’t think I would be able to cut into it 🙂

    I’ve never shopped at Pink Castles Fabrics before… but thank you for introducing them to me..

  6. I’m in need of some Kona solids, I need some ivory, multiple greys, and I love the cerise. . Although, I’m really liking those yellow sketch fabrics.

  7. I have a big wish list, but on the top of it is some Kona solids for a project I’m doing. I need some Ash, White and Iron.

  8. I think I’d pick up some Lotta Jansdotter. I *love* her style. I’m a huge Orla Kiely fan, and LJ seems to have the style closest to her…if only Orla made quilting cotton…**swoon**!
    I used some sketch in a quilt for my daughter, and I love it! Can’t wait to see what you do with it 😀 New reader here!

  9. Pingback: Sunday Stash #5: A Little Bit of Yellow | Things I Make
  10. I love sketch fabric line – I have a ton of fabrics but always find myself needing something more to finish up a project…something that I don’t have of coarse. I have been wanting some squared elements for a long time now – must grab some before it is all gone!

  11. Oh, love the Sketch fabric! It is really great to get fabric packages in the mail, and if I happenend to win I would love to order some rulers and a FQ bundle of Sweet as Honey, adorable!

  12. I would absolutely buy more of the Pearl Bracelets Tonals. Probably in Black and Blue, Robin’s Egg, and Dark Orange. Or at least those would be my first three choices.

  13. Thanks for hosting and the giveaway, NIcholas! I browsed through the bundles at the Fat Quater Shop and saw a bunch I like! I don’t have any Color Me Happy yet, and they also have some really great blogger curated bundles that would be fun too!

  14. Pingback: Sunday Stash | Sew Patched Up
  15. I hadn’t seen Sketch before and love it!! That’s what I would be getting if I won!!! Thank you for the great giveaway!

  16. Well, I am usually not a fan of floral fabrics but I really like the Leah Duncan Meadow line. I’d get some of that and make something summery with it for me. I will be adding you to my Old Reader list. 🙂

  17. Color me Happy has me hooked at the mo, and pretty much impossible to get the whole line here in Blighty. I’ve never tried buying from the US online shops, cos I am so scared of the delivery, VAT, customs charges thing …. but your giveaway voucher may just be what I need! Thanks for the chance!

  18. I’m waiting on the new Denyse Schmidt line Hadley, but I’m sure I’d have to buy something else in the meantime because I’m so impatient. Thank you, what a nice giveaway.

  19. Sure, I’ll follow along! Lover of sketch here. Both of the drawing and fabric variety. I’d be hard pressed to pick. Gah! Maybe some of the new shimmer pearl bracelets, or the new (possibly last? gasp!) Ghastlies line, Bee my honey, Arizona, Chillingsworth, Alexander Henry Haunted House, some voiles.

  20. Okay, your post just made me grin, ear to ear! I love a good themed post, especially one about our gal Dorothy! Oh, the irony! You are so special, mister! Don’t enter me in the giveaway, obvs, but I would totally be buying a bolt of Art Gallery in black and white. I think I only want to use them now for my solids. You’ve been a fab host, and I’ll gladly let you do it again!

    • Oh my! I’d like to thank the Academy…actually no, I did it all myself! In all seriousness though, thank you! It’s been an honour and I’d be more than willing to step in for you any time.

Leave a Reply

