STASHING #15

Yesterday’s Mothering Sunday saw me swap fabric for frangipani when I hosted an afternoon tea in thanks for maternal duties.  It was only when I got back home I remembered I’d forgotten to share my latest fabric spoils with you all for Sunday Stash.  So here they are, in all their better-late-than-never glory.

Last week we took a trip to Hereford; a place I’d heard a lot about but had never visited.  In a nut shell, it’s a quintessentially English city.  Street market?  Check.  Cathedral?  Check.  Fabric store?  Check, check, check!  Doughty’s had been mentioned to me before so I knew we had to make a pit-stop there.  What I didn’t know was that they spread themselves over three premises, nestled in a quaint courtyard.  One is for needle craft and haberdashery, another for dress and craft fabrics, and the third for patchwork and quilting.  I knew that if I dragged the man into all three there’d be serious boredom issues, so I contained myself and only browsed the patchwork venue.

Inside was a great selection of plain cottons, batiks, Amy Butler and Kaffe Fassett fabrics and novelty prints, as well as all the usual paraphernalia associated with our craft; rulers, cutting mats, wadding and templates.  I knew time wasn’t on my side so I scanned the shelves robot-like, not really knowing what I was looking for but knowing that I’d know once I found it.  Despite finding some bolts of  Flea Market Fancy legacy, I showed restraint and went away with the small selection above.

I made the rookie mistake of forgetting to note the selvedge details but after a little research I’ve come up with some names.  The blue herringbone is from ‘Marrakesh’ by Lewis & Irene, a British, family-run fabric business.  The yellow and blue stripe and the dinosaur print are from ‘Jurassic coast’, also by Lewis & Irene. and impossible to leave behind.  The gorgeous stars and moon prints are by Maywood Studio and I’m wishing I bought more!  The final yellow-green print caught my eye for its likeness to something by Tula Pink, so home it came!  I could have spent hours in the shop, yet despite a chair in the corner for any non-fabric aficionado visiting he was having none of it.  Still, I know where it is now…a fabric addict never forgets.

Linking up some what belatedly with Molli Sparkles for Sunday Stash.  Go forth and drool fabric lovers!

4 thoughts on “STASHING #15

  1. And I am the lady who served you! It very briefly crossed my mind that you could have been you, maybe because of your fabric choices! The yellow bird fabric is Peace Garden from Fabric Freedom by the way. They’re all on the extensive website, http://www.doughtysonline.co.uk though sadly I am not, having left for pastures quilt-like on Saturday. Glad you enjoyed your visit though 🙂

  2. Pingback: INTRODUCING LEWIS AND IRENE | Quilts From The Attic

Leave a Reply

