(DE) STASHING #8.5

About a week ago, a hashtag swept though Instagram, leaving in its wake a trembling mass of excitable  fabricholics.  It was #thegreatfabricdestash.  A simple conception where by you post a picture of fabric you’d like to sell with said hashtag and anyone wishing to take it off your hands need only comment with their PayPal address.  First come, first served.  Simple.  I watched in awe, constantly refreshing my screen to see the newest offerings.  In the aftermath, there was a lot of commentary from UK-based quilters who were saddened that so much awesome fabric was out of their reach, either due to the sellers refusal to ship international or the sky-high prices of such shipping.  I was fortunate that my amazing American ‘”mum” Debi allows me to use her home as a makeshift post office.  I secured a great deal on a Robert Kaufman ‘How the Grinch Stole Christmas’ bundle, though I could have spent more…a lot more.

The success of the event caught on and a few days ago an Instagram friend, lovestrawberrypatch, suggested a UK destash and I was sold.  Great fabric, without the high cost and long wait of international shipping!  Last night, everyone in the house got fed earlier than usual; me, the man and the dog, for 7pm was the time of the #greatukfabricdestash and I had to have my wits about me.  Who knew what delights might be waiting to tempt me?   I needed funds, and I needed them quick.  A quick rummage through the stash and I had a some things I was willing to part with.  Some of it was duplicates and things I’d bought far to much of, but a few were pieces I really loved, namely some of my Heather Ross Munki Munki.  I thought long and hard before deciding to destash them.  My reasoning was that I’d already sewn with them in some form or another, and unlike my stash staples; the stripes, the crosshatching and the chevrons, these pieces were a one time deal.  I’d used it and now I had to lose it.

The event was a huge success and so much fun!  A frenzied evening of fastest finger first.  There were some awesome things available.  I had my eye on some Heather Ross ‘Mendocino’ but I wasn’t quick enough and they went within seconds of being posted!  Whoever destashed them had more willpower than me; my Mendocino is stored under lock and key!  I managed to sell a fair bit and restrained myself just enough to make a profit.  I scored some great Tula Pink pieces, some ‘Ghastlies’ by Alexander Henry and a few random bits and bobs which I will share with you all in my next stashing post.

Looking at Instagram this morning, there’s  word of a #greataussiedestash so it looks like the idea has gone global!  There are still some great things to be had, so if you’re looking for a bargain or a certain fabric be sure to check the out the hashtags.

Did you get anything great from the great destash?

2 thoughts on “(DE) STASHING #8.5

Leave a Reply

