LIGHTHOUSE QUILT ALONG II

The second part of the Lighthouse Quilt Along was posted by Faith from Fresh Lemon Quilts today.  This week is dedicated to making a test block and calculating the amount of fabric you’ll need.  For those of you who are new to paper piecing, Faith has written some extremely thorough instructions, providing photographs of each steps as well as  instructional text.  There is also an extremely helpful amount of maths already worked out for anybody whose brain doesn’t work that way!  When I paper piece I tend to be as skimpy as I dare with my fabric, but for those new to this the amounts suggested will help you avoid any problems.

When the quilt along kicked off last week I decided to stray from the rainbow idea and instead use my quilt to showcase a fabric range.  I’ve chosen to use my recently acquired ‘Acacia‘ collection by Tula Pink.  I’m pairing this up with coordinating solids and a Robert Kaufman Essex linen/cotton blend for the background.  I haven’t made a paper pieced quilt block for a while so it was great fun to make my test block.  Only 24 more to go…

Do you fancy quilting along too?  It’s not to late to start.  Visit Fresh Lemon Quilts for all the details.

One thought on “LIGHTHOUSE QUILT ALONG II

  1. Looks great! I was thinking about doing this QAL with Acacia, too. Since my time is already spoken for with other quilting deadlines, I will be following your progress to see how it goes. Love the linen background!

Leave a Reply

