A DINOSAUR QUILT, BASTED.

I thought I’d share this picture of the dinosaur quilt in all its basted glory.  Today has been the earliest I’ve had any time to work on this, so I’m happy to have it done.

When basting, I use spray rather than pins as I find it gives me better results, particularly with free-motion quilting.  I use the largest, flattest surface I can find and tape my pressed backing to it.  The wadding is put into position and affixed to the backing, working from the center outwards.  I repeat this for the pressed top, making sure not to distort or stretch the seams. Finally, I trim the excess backing and wadding to about 2 inches on each side of the top with pinking shears.  This method gives me a quilt sandwich which holds together well, with no puckering or bunching.

I’ve earmarked tomorrow for quilting and binding, so mint tea and biscuits breaks will be long and often.

One thought on “A DINOSAUR QUILT, BASTED.

  1. Pingback: A DINOSAUR QUILT | Quilts From The Attic

Leave a Reply

